Another guest post, this time we’re going back in time (only to yesterday though!) with guest blogger Nic Tubb, aswell as being a performer, Nic is also our very helpful tech guy and bus driver. Thankyou for sharing Nic.

Day 4

Today started at about 7:00. Get up, shower, breakfast, d r i v e to Waikerie and back. Late again, but we’ll get there.

I’ve begun writing down random ideas that I think of based on the stuff we do throughout the day.

Things that might or might not be relevant for this project, but stuff that wants to come out.

But I’ve found it really useful to try and define in words my feelings of pressure and examples of pressure from my own life.

There’s a few things about myself I’ve discovered along the way.

Today we got scripts! Yay! I like scripts especially as they were based on the actual letters that alysha got from her group sessions so they are really the words of the community. But she’d also included some of the little skits we’d done inspired by the letters, hopes and fears.
While I thought the script was good and did reflect what the community has said, I felt that something was missing from it. A voice that wasn’t represented and I began thinking about pressure as a good thing. “A force that makes something happen” – one of the definitions given by the school groups – does not say that pressure is a bad thing, just that it makes stuff happen. Good stuff / Bad stuff? I Still haven’t come up with a useful concept but it’ll come.

Today we also were asked to create miniature physical PressureLands using spare boxes, spray paint, pipe cleaners, googly eyes and a bunch of other craft things. I HATE THIS KIND OF THING! I either have no idea about where to start; or worse, I have an idea that I like and everything I do to get it from my head to tangible existence just fails. But PressureLands has been a place of challenges and I did have an idea about what PressureLands looks like to me and although not my preferred medium, I enjoyed the chance to materialise my ideas. I started with the idea in my head but it took about 6 minutes for me to fail at creating what I had in my head. I got sad.

Then I got over it and picked up another box to try again. When I sat back down, I noticed my new box rattled. There was something inside my box. I was curious, but it occurred to me:

NO ONE knows what is inside

I had caught PressureLands in my box. You can’t ever actually see it but you can feel it’s there; just like the wind.